top of page

- FIRM Symposium 2023 -

26th - 29th September, Hotel Cap Roig, Spain

The Future Investigators of Regenerative Medicine (FIRM) is an international society that brings together early-career researchers passionate about regenerative medicine and tissue engineering. Our keynotes and delegates have diverse, multidisciplinary backgrounds from molecular biology to mechanical engineering. The unique atmosphere at FIRM allows young scientists to expand their regenerative medicine network, facilitate collaborations and hone their career development skills.  

FIRM was established in 2013 by PhD students of the EPSRC Doctoral Training Centre (DTC) in Regenerative Medicine based between Loughborough, Keele and Nottingham University. Over the years, our community has grown to exceed 250 researchers from more than 60 world-class institutions based in over 20 different countries. FIRM has been a hugely successful project, and we hope you will join us on our journey to strengthen the links within regenerative medicine.

“FIRM is a friendly, interactive conference with a unique atmosphere. I couldn’t recommend it enough for PhD students in regenerative medicine.”

Current Committee

Blank profile clipart.png

Dan Merryweather

Loughborough University


Isobel Jobson

University of Nottingham

Blank profile clipart.png

Victoria Hughes

University of Birmingham

Blank profile clipart.png

Gabriele Gelezauskaite

University of Sheffield

Blank profile clipart.png

Olivia Johnson-Love

University of Strathclyde

Previous Committees


  • Chris Simpson - Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland

  • Lydia Beeken - University of Nottingham

  • Domhnall Kelly - Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland

  • Catherine Beltran - Loughborough University



  • Katya Pchelintseva - Imperial College London

  • Niamh - University of Liverpool

  • Catherine Beltran - Loughborough University

  • Domhnall Kelly - Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland

  • Lydia Beeken - University of Nottingham


  • Phoebe McCrorie - University of Nottingham

  • Daniel Green - University of Liverpool

  • Christopher Hill - University of Liverpool

  • Preeti Holland - Loughborough University

  • Juan Aviles Milan - Southampton University


  • Michael Glinka - University of Southampton

  • James Kusena -  Loughborough University

  • Rabea Loczenski - University of Nottingham

  • Gastón Agustín Primo - Queen Mary University of London


  • Gianluca Cidonio - University of Southampton

  • Lia Blokpoel Ferreras - University of Nottingham

  • Zuzana Kočí - Charles University in Prague

  • Susanne Renz - University of Southampton

  • Stephen Ruck -  Loughborough University

  • Laura Ruiz-Harrison - University of Nottingham


  • Richard Harrison - University of Nottingham

  • Helen Jesson -  Loughborough University 

  • Inés Moreno - University of Southampton


  • Thomas Heathman - Loughborough University

  • Alex Lomas - Keele University

  • Hareklea Markides -  Keele University

  • David Smith - Loughborough University


  • Alex Lomas - Keele University

  • Hareklea Markides -  Keele University

  • Jim Rose - University of Nottingham

  • David Smith - Loughborough University​​

bottom of page